6th Grade Teams

Teachers

ELA/Social Studies Teacher
kbegani@elmhurst205.org
 

Math Teacher mbowles@elmhurst205.org

Strejc, Laurel
Science Teacher lstrejc@elmhurst205.org

Terrill, Erin
ELA/ Social Studies Teacher erinterrill@elmhurst205.org

McDonald, Elizabeth
Science Teacher emcdonald@elmhurst205.org

Pearson, Robyn
Resource Teacher rpearson@elmhurst205.org

Rowe, Lindsey
English Teacher lrowe@elmhurst205.org

Stanford, Brittney
Math Teacher bstanford@elmhurst205.org

Tang, James
Social Studies Teacher jtang@elmhurst205.org

Okray, Carly
Resource Teacher cokray@elmhurst205.org

WELCOME TO SIXTH GRADE AT BRYAN!

The transition from elementary school to middle school is an exciting time for students and families.  On this page you will find information about the different procedures common to sixth grade at Bryan and some of the things we do to help ease students into sixth grade, as well as information about special sixth grade events.

TIPS FOR 6TH GRADE

Starting middle school can be an exciting, and sometimes scary, time!  Here are some tips that may help you have a successful start to middle school.

1. Stay organized. 
Use your agenda (assignment notebook) to write down all your assignments.  Try to keep your locker organized and from getting very messy by putting things back where they belong and not just shoving them in randomly.

2. Plan ahead.
Don't wait until the last day to start a bigger homework assignment.  It will feel so much easier if you do a little each day.  Start those larger assignments the day you get them so they don't seem so overwhelming.

3. Don't be afraid to ask for help.
Ask parents, teachers, and older siblings for help or advice when you don't know what to do.

4. Try new things.
Trying a new activity is a great way to meet new people.   Sitting with new people at lunch is also a fun way to meet other kids you may not have had the chance to make new friends.

5. Relax.
It's a little nerve-wracking starting a new school but your teachers and parents will help you along the way.  Try to remember you're not alone.

LOCKER STOPS

Avoid being tardy by only visiting your locker during these times:

  1. Start of the Day
  2. Before Lunch
  3. After Lunch
  4. Before EBlocks
  5. End of the Day