8th Grade Teams

8TH GRADE TEAM

Baumeister, Kurt
8th gr Social Studies Teacher kbaumeister@elmhurst205.org

Bradbury, Laurel
8th gr Science/Math lbradbury@elmhurst205.org

Curran, Barb
8th gr Science Teacher bcurran@elmhurst205.org

Dahlquist, Lisa
8th gr English ldahlquist@elmhurst205.org

Davis, Chelsea
8th gr Math/Science Teacher cdavis@elmhurst205.org

Dunn, Ellen
Counselor edunn@elmhurst205.org

Felde, Laura
8th Grade REACH English/Social Studies Teacher lfelde@elmhurst205.org

Ford, Joanne
Special Ed Resource jford@elmhurst205.org

Johnson, Michael
8th gr REACH/English Teacher michaeljohnson@elmhurst205.org

Krueger, Julie
Reading Specialist jkrueger@elmhurst 205.org

Mangun, Robert
8th gr English/ Social Studies Teacher rmangun@elmhurst205.org

Nunes, Tara
8th gr Math/Science Teacher tnunes@elmhurst205.org

Samp, Sarah
8th gr Math Teacher ssamp@elmhurst205.org

Bryan Poster

8th graders will be taking the PSAT during school hours on Wednesday, October 3.  Please see your student's homeroom teacher or a team leader if you have any questions.

Check out the outdoor classroom that the 8th graders and Bryan PTA are building! Click Here

SNACK LIST GUIDELINE

During Block 1, eighth grade students are allowed to bring a healthy snack to munch on.  No snack may contain peanuts, tree nuts, food dye, shellfish, soy, berries, cherries, kiwi, pineapple, tomatoes, or green tea.  Some healthy snack foods are listed below as suggestions for your child.  

  • Raw veggies (NO tomatoes)
  • Fresh fruit (NO kiwi, berries, cherries, pineapple)
  • Dried fruits (raisins, apricots, apples, etc.)
  • Dry cereal (no peanut butter flavors please!)**
  • Crackers**
  • Pretzels**
  • Baked Chips**
  • Muffins**
  • Granola Bars (no peanut butter flavors please!)**
  • Graham Crackers (not chocolate covered!)**

Snack items should be ready to eat - no utensils needed, oranges already peeled, etc.  

** Please check the box or packaging to make sure the product is not manufactured in a plant that also processes peanuts or tree nuts or any other of the above listed allergens.   

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. 

Thank you, 

The Eighth Grade Team


LOCKER STOPS

Acceptable times to visit lockers are:

  1. Before Homeroom
  2. Before Lunch
  3. After Lunch
  4. End of the Day
  5. After Acceleration

Students who are in their lockers at times other than those listed above, or who have forgotten something for class and need to get it from their locker, will be issued a locker violation.  Students will receive two locker violation warnings and the third will result in a lunch detention.  Violations will start over at the beginning of each quarter. 


TIPS FOR STUDENTS

Success on Taking Good Notes

  1. Keep your notes for each class separate.  Using a separate spiral for each class is the best way to do this
  2. Be selective on what you write.  Rushing to write everything your teacher says/writes will confuse you and cause you to lose the main idea
  3. Ask your teacher to repeat something if you miss it
  4. Stay alert through the entire class...even during the last few minutes of class
  5. Write legibly...you have to read your notes later!

TIPS FOR PARENTS

How to Help with Homework

  1.  Make sure your child has a quiet, well-lit place to do homework, free from distractors such as TV, phones and social media
  2.  Help your child with time-management
  3.  Be positive about homework
  4.  When your child asks for help provide guidance, not answers
  5.  Make sure materials that your child needs are available
  6.  Help your child determine what is hard homework and what is easy homework, then have them do hard homework first taken from: https://www2.ed.gov/parents/academic/involve/homework/homeworktips.pdf