English/Language Arts

ENGLISH DEPARTMENT

Please feel free to contact the English Dept. Chairperson with questions you may have:

Diane Danielczyk
ddanielczyk@elmhurst205.org

BRYAN ENGLISH DEPARTMENT

  Begani, Kelly

6th gr English/Social Studies Teacher kbegani@elmhurst205.org

 
Bucci, Blair

ELL/7th gr Language Arts Teacher bbucci@elmhurst205.org

 
Dahlquist, Lisa

8th gr English ldahlquist@elmhurst205.org

 
Dakins, Ann

7th gr REACH English/ Social Studies Teacher adakins@elmhurst205.org

 
Danielczyk, Diane

7th gr REACH/English Teacher ddanielczyk@elmhurst205.org

 
Felde, Laura

8th Grade REACH English/Social Studies Teacher lfelde@elmhurst205.org

 
Fox, Erin

English/ Social Studies Teacher efox@elmhurst205.org

 
Hatz, Margaret

6th gr Language Arts Teacher mhatz@elmhurst205.org

 
Mangun, Robert

8th gr English/ Social Studies Teacher rmangun@elmhurst205.org

   
  Pollitz, Madison

Language Arts Teacher mpollitz@elmhurst205.org

 
Rowe, Lindsey

6th gr English Teacher lrowe@elmhurst205.org

 
Samp, Sarah

8th gr Math Teacher ssamp@elmhurst205.org

ONE BOOK, ONE BRYAN CULMINATES...


Sixth, Seventh, and Eighth grade English classes completed their reading of this year's all school read.  Students and staff had a wonderful experience reading Peak by Roland Smith.  Originally published in 2007, Peak relates the adventures of 14 year old Peak Marcello as he tries to climb to the summit of Mt. Everest.  Peak was a critical success, nominated for several awards, including the 2012 Rebecca Caudill Young Reader Book award.  In addition, it won numerous honors such as being named a Booklist Editor's Choice in 2007.  

On Thursday March 3rd, the Bryan community welcomed Roland Smith to Bryan during an all school assembly.  Mr. Smith regaled students and staff with stories of how his many novels have come to be.  Mr. Smith was personable, funny, entertaining, and truly inspiring.  To cap it off, he graciously stayed to participate in our Bryan celebration of the all school read.

Students who participated in the Peak Celebration after school enjoyed a wide range of activities.  Students could view a fascinating documentary on Mt. Everest, experience the Mt. Everest experience through a viewfinder, test their knowledge in a fun but challenging quiz, put themselves through the paces in our very own Everest obstacle course, and even get to talk to the author of Peakhimself.  Every student who participated had a great time!!

Special thanks to all who worked so hard to plan this event:  Mrs. Magierski, Mrs. Hatz, Mrs. Kuziel, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Thomas, Ms. Solesky, and Ms. Discipio.  Most especially, much gratitude is given to Mr. Roland Smith and all of the students who participated in the various activities offered throughout the month.

Keep reading!!
Ms. Danielczyk

WHY READING MATTERS..

Penny Kittle has written several books on the importance of reading to our students.  Recognized as the 2015 Exemplary Leader from the Conference on English Leadership for NCTE (National Council of Teachers of English), she advocates the importance of reading 20 minutes per day.  On her website, she has posted an infographic citing research to support this philosophy:  

 

Reading poster.jpg